Mike Beckett is caring for business and taking no liberties…

Pragmatic, productive and proactive

Is Labels.io the next LinkedIn 2.0?

with 2 comments


Tech professional Octavian

Founder of Labels.io Octavian Popescu

Labels.io reviewed

I saw Labels.io briefly reviewed on the latest episode of BBC click online at first glance it appears to be a virtual talent acquisition platform. Intrigued I thought I would have a go and see how it works for me first as a punter.  Having registered I then spent a few minutes adding in key words, previous employers, linking some social networks and writing a brief personal statement. I identified a problem that putting in your user name for Flickr and LinkedIn didn’t appear to let people check them, so I had to re-enter them with the full address starting from http and then you can click through on the icons on your profile page. Once completed the result looks like this: http://labels.io/mikebeckett it then rates me, giving me a rating of 41?, although I am not sure what to make of the rating as there are no other indicators of what this actually means? If you can shed some light on the spectrum of scores  and what this may actually mean, please do let me know!

I tried Labels.io again as an employer to see how it works but annoyingly I couldn’t be both available to opportunities (a punter or contractor) and harnessing others human capital (as a recruiter). To progress I had to register another account. When I populated something on what I was looking for keywords, again this only took a couple of minutes. I was pleasantly surprised by my interest in the results. I was presented with a slider to see who was a high to low fit of what I wanted, this is interesting and does seem to work. I suppose this is cheaper than a recruitment consultant, headhunting on your behalf and does seem more search orientated for Employers than LinkedIn is.

Usability is high and it is easy to use quickly. Drawbacks are, I am not sure how large the pool of people are on the site so results may be limited? However on the plus side I suppose early adopters are more likely to be motivated type A personalities that employers will want. So will Labels.io be the next LinkedIn, well time will tell it certainly is fun to play with the slider and to tweak the key words as recruiter to see who might suddenly appear. Having used Label.io I just might use it if I need more staff, certainly its a quick way to see if some talent might be available to meet the requirements of your human resources strategy and what key words to use. Perhaps its most dynamic use will be interim solutions and immediate appointments, especially to cover crisis or unexpected business disruptions. I can see this be added into Business Continuity strategy’s to bolster organisations capacity when requirement is a rush job.

Overall I would recommend this to my colleagues and fellow members of the Institute of Directors, this is a useful site. I think there is a niche that Label.io can fill to increase transitional efficiency of talent management. Certainly I recommend having a look at Label.io to see if this can work for you.

This article’s based on a quick Googleplus update after trying out Label.io and reflecting on its performance since.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A reply from my Twitter feed: “(klout rating 22) sigquit – Octavian Popescu

    @Mike_Beckett thanks for the write-up, the rating is our (in)famous Labels Weight, more about it here: http://labels.io/page/labels_weight

    Following the Link “The algorithm attempts to determine your online social authority” although I would prefer benchmarking or some kind of spectrum or grid (like Klout) so I knew how I compare to my contemporaries. Just a thought for improvement.

    Mike Beckett

    2011/09/24 at 19:30

  2. This blog is wonderful.. i didnt know anything about this.. thank you Michael for this great blog.
    thanks Laura Novak

    demlaura33

    2011/09/25 at 13:44


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

