Mike Beckett is caring for business and taking no liberties…

Pragmatic, productive and proactive

Ed I know what you did last government!

with 5 comments


Once again, Ed Miliband has invited Liberal Democrats to join him.
Alistair Carmichael, Liberal Democrat chief whip, wrote on his Facebook blog on 15/1/11 “So Ed Miliband wants Lib Dems to join Labour. After careful thought I have compiled a short list of those that I am prepared to let him have. If, after a week of having them, he still wants more then he can come back and we can discuss it. Careful what you wish for, Ed.”

I think that those attracted to Labour might have a superficial interest as I don’t think Ed Miliband’s Labour stand up to scrutiny…

What are their policies, what would they cut, what would they do differently, what responsibility are they taking and how are they helping to make things better? Refusal to compromise is not adult behaviour, adults negotiate and all I see is that Labour are right because they are Labour and they should not compromise and we others should be converted to Labour because they are right. This is so shallow, and the Unions are interested in themselves and their leadership not individuals. In my experience they are just as out of touch as Labour are.

My overwhelming thought, Dear Ed, is I know what you did last government! If I didn’t have a memory, if I did not know your record, then I might be interested. The centralisation, profligate spending, erosion of civil liberties and putting the Labour party’s priorities above the interests of the country are some of the reasons I will politely decline Ed’s offer.

I urge intelligent people tempted to vote Labour to look to building a better society, to support freedom, fairness and electoral reform and back the liberal Democrats.

The inspiration for commenting on this came from Simon and the Facebook group http://www.facebook.com/LibDemLife which I recommend and appreciation to Peter for editorial advice.

Now Ed is attacking the Unions to be seen to be strong against them, however this does look like rehearsed pantomime. I can’t believe it hasn’t been planned in advance and seems to me to just be about positioning and not about reality *sigh*

Ed my impression is that you are coming across as cold and calculating to me and wanting to win at any cost, even family, if this is what the people want then maybe our next Prime Minister will be Mr Miliband but I know I for one will oppose you at the ballot box Ed and I think others will too!

(EDIT: I have since this post re-designated this blog as a business blog and political views are now in Mike Beckett’s Political Blog: Mikish Musings thank you)

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] You might also be interested in reading my personal business blog latest Ed I know what you did last government! […]

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Glenn_Goodall. Glenn_Goodall said: RT @Mike_Beckett: Ed Miliband I know what you did last government! blog reflections. https://mikebeckett.wordpress.com/2011/01/16/ed-i-kn … […]

  3. Even fewer realize the magnitude not to mention investing a week in spinning it around to see how does it feel. Probably many will become addicts if they only gave it a little time.

  4. I agree with your assumption.

    janeyquiel

    2011/01/30 at 00:25

  5. […] Mike Beckett is caring for business and taking no liberties… .recentcomments a{display:inline !important;padding:0 !important;margin:0 !important;} […]


Leave a comment